Expectation

Image

As a wife I have some expectation of my husband as any women would. Also, I’m sure my husband has some expectations of my as well. But what I have found out is that I have very high expectations of my husband. Let me show you why.

Here are the top 5 expectations I have:

1-      I expect that he can read my mind.

2-      I expect that he can just hear my voice and know when I’m in pain.

3-      I expect that he should put me first above all else.

4-      I expect him to be able to say just one word and take all my hurt away.

5-      I expect him to put his “needs” aside because I don’t feel good.

 

When all the while I am expecting him to hold me when I need that touch, carry me when life is just too much, love me when I don’t even love myself and save me when I screw everything up. 

In other words expect him to be my Jesus.

I look to my husband as some god that I have placed on a pedal stool. I have made him to be someone he cannot be. I ask way too much of him and when he cannot deliver I become disappointed in him as if he could ever live up to my expectations anyway.

Deep down I know he cannot be nor do what I need from Jesus yet I still place him in Jesus spot as if he could. I get mad at him when his “needs” come up because I am in pain and he “should know this” because you know… I never said a word.

I find myself seeking my husband over Jesus.

I find myself looking to him for all the answers.

I find myself seeking his approval

I have found myself so lost because he cannot give me what I need….without Jesus.

My favorite verse is Matthew 6:33

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

I find myself taking the word his out and replacing it with Joey.  I become so discombobulated with life because I have not put Jesus first. I have done what Matthew has instructed up to do.

Ladies, I’m talking to me as well, we must find ourselves in Jesus before we find ourselves in our husbands arms because if we don’t than we may find that we no longer have a marriage that is honoring to God our heavenly father.

 

Dear Father above, I pray special for everyone reading this today. I pray that they are filled with some much joy from your words you have given me. I pray that they not only find this of great help but also that they apply it to their own marriage. Father help give us the power to turn our lives over to you, the strength to give up the control and the wisdom to know when we are looking to our husbands for that affirmation that only you are able to provide. Father I asked all this in Jesus name. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

