Sticky Note Faith

Those bible verses we put up in our cars,on our desk at work, on the walls around our homes and even on our mirrors are what I consider sticky note faith.

You write them in pin so they are not easily erased yet what do we do when the sticky wears off?

Sometimes I wonder if writing those verses on little pieces of paper is where they stay.

I know many people have to write things down to remember them. Believe me I am one of those people. If I don’t write it down I will not remember it, I guess that’s why I have so many on my desk. I look up at them each time one catches my eye but I often find myself still not remembering what verse I just read as soon as I walked away from my desk.

Image

So I begin to think, once all the sticky comes off of the piece of paper and and you pick it up to throw it away, where does that verse go? Does it stay on those sticky notes that you just throw away or in your head so you can remember it when you feel it is convenient or is it actually written on you heart like Jesus tells us?

I can think of 3 places where we are commanded to write His words on our hearts. We are to fix them, to bind them and to tie them to our hearts yet why can’t we seem to do that. Here are the 3 places I found;

Deuteronomy 11:18 Fix these words of mine in you heart and minds; tie them as symblos on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. (NIV)

Proverbs 3:3 Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart. (NIV)

Proverbs 7:3 Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart. (NIV)

I know that my heart is a chaotic mess right now because of many things from family, work, school, friends and the list goes on and on but what I know my heart is not….it is not a canvas full of His word. I know it should be but many times those words on my sticky notes are just that…WORDS. They do not make it to the messy canvas of what I call my heart.

Today I pray that the words I read from His word, that I can bind them, tie them and fix them to my heart so even when I dont believe I need them they are there.

Dear Jesus, I pray that your words are worth more to me than just a piece of paper. Help me to do as your word says and bind them on my heart. Jesus I want to know you more and by doing that I will be able to make Your word more than just letters I write down. Thank you Jesus for your word. In Jesus name Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

